Sign In

Managing Documents

For Community Leaders/Moderators

This page covers how to manage documents once they've been contributed. You must be logged in to perform any actions besides viewing already-approved documents. For specific instructions on adding, editing, or deleting documents, review the Documents training page.

Topics:

Approve/Reject DAU Sponsored Documents

To review pending content, click on the Documents link in the left navigation and then click the DAU Sponsored Documents banner. Click the ellipsis below the banner and choose either Approve/Reject Items (for items that you did not contribute) or My Submissions (for items that you did contribute). Even though moderators, leaders, and DAU faculty and staff can contribute to the DAU Sponsored Documents library, those contributions must still be approved before they are visible to the public. 

Click the ellipsis and choose to Approve/reject items or My Submissions to view pending items.

From the Approve/reject Items view, you'll see items pending approval listed at the top, followed by items that have already been approved. To act on a document, click the ellipsis to the right of the file title and then click the second ellipsis to bring up the context menu.

Click the ellipses associated with a file to act upon it.

Review and/or Edit the item before acting to approve or reject it. Refer to the Documents training page for specific instructions on performing these actions.

View Properties or check out the document to Edit before deciding whether to approve or reject it.

After reviewing and/or editing, choose Approve/Reject from the context menu.

Choose the Approve/Reject option from the context menu.

Click the radio button next to Approved or Rejected to take the appropriate action. Add a note explaining your decision, if desired. Then click OK to complete the action. NOTE: Rejected items will still be available to the contributor and to all those with edit authority. To completely remove a document, see the Delete a Document section below.

Click the radio button to choose the appriate action and then click OK to complete the action.

[back to top]

Delete a Document

To delete an item, click the ellipses again as described above and then choose Delete from the context menu. Click OK to confirm the delete action.

Choose Delete from the context menu, then click OK to confirm the deletion.

[back to top]

Convert Workforce Contributed Document to DAU Sponsored Document

To move a Workforce Contributed Document to the DAU Sponsored Documents library, it will be necessary to create a copy of the Workforce Contributed document in the DAU Sponsored Documents library, then you can delete the original. To do this, click on the Documents link in the left navigation and then right-click on the DAU Sponsored Documents banner to copy the URL. Save it because you’ll need it in a few minutes.

Right-click on DAU Sponsored Documents library to save link address.

Click on the Workforce Contributed Documents banner. Be sure to review and/or edit the document to validate its content before moving it to the DAU Sponsored Documents library. 

View or edit the document as necessary to validate its content.

Once you’ve validated the contents, click the ellipses and choose to View Properties. Then click Manage Copies.

From View Properties, click on Manage Copies.

Click the New Copy link.

Click the New Copy link.

Here is where you need the URL that you saved earlier. Paste the URL for the DAU Sponsored Documents library into the first field. In the second field, keep the default setting of Yes. Then click OK.

Paste the URL for the DAU Sponsored Documents library into the first field, then click OK.

Choose to Update Copies.

Choose to Update Copies.

Select the box next to the file that you wish to update or choose to Select All if you have multiple copies. Then click OK.

Select the box next to the file that you wish to update and click OK.

You’ll receive a notice that you’re Waiting for User Confirmation. Click the OK button.

When you receive the notice that you’re Waiting for User Confirmation, click the OK button.

You’ll now receive the Status Finished message. Click the top-right X to close the window.

When you receive the Status Finished message, close the window.

Close the pop-up window and click Documents in the left navigation to view the DAU Sponsored Documents library again.

Close the pop-up window and click Documents in the left navigation to view the DAU Sponsored Documents library again.

The copy of the original document should now appear there.

The copy of the original document should now be visible.

Now it’s time to Unlink the copy from the original. Click the ellipses and choose View Properties. When the window opens, click Unlink. Confirm that you wish to unlink. Then Close the windows and check in the document (click the ellipses and choose Check In).

From View Properties, click Unlink.

Your final step is to delete the original in the Workforce Contributed Documents library. Click the ellipses associated with the original document, then choose Delete from the context menu.

Delete the original in the Workforce Contributed Documents library.

To empty your recycle bin, click the gear at the top right of your page and choose Site Contents.

Go to Site Contents to empty your recycle bin.

Click on the Recycle Bin link at the top right of the page.

Click the Recycle Bin link at the top right of the page.

Check the boxes next to the item(s) you wish to delete, then click Delete Selection. Confirm the deletion.

Check the boxes next to the item(s) you wish to delete, then click Delete Selection.

[back to top]